Engadget reports that Jonathan Zdziarski might have gotten it a little wrong and that this "feature" implemented into Core Location is "just" meant to empower Apple to disable Core Location remotely for certain apps.
But still, what for? Somehow, this (still) doesn't make any sense to me. Applications are being tested before they are released to App Store (in theory). So, no "harmful" application should be installed on the iPhone in the first place.
If there was need to prevent a certain application from being used, Apple could simply revoke the certificate. So Apple should be on the safe side anyway, one should think.
But this remote "feature" suggests that there is a need for a navigation application to be disabled instantaneous. Why??
If you have any idea why this might be needed, feel free to leave a comment.